Making Time for Connection

Yesterday I had a therapist friend over for BYOL (bring your own lunch). She hosted me a month or so ago at her home and I was excited to return the kindness. We ate our lunches in the sunroom at the dining room table and talked for hours. It was quality time spent in connection and I am glad both of our schedules allowed for it.

Mondays ha become my outside connection day for me. I feel like I have reclaimed Mondays. Monday gets such a bad wrap because for most it is the beginning of the work week, it is nice to embrace this day of the week again.

I got up early yesterday morning to wash tidy up a bit to be ready to receive my guest. While taking the recycles outside to the bin I was elated to discover our composter had been delivered! I picked it up and moved it to the backyard and brought of all my veggie scraps out for my first deposit.

I am very excited about this new approach to disposing waste and how it may help nurture a future garden. The possibilities are endless.

While Mondays have become outside connection day, Tuesdays are inside connection day. Tuesdays and Sundays are the two days I protect and keep for myself. Sundays are me and my husbands day together, and Tuesdays are my self-care day. I may eventually see clients on Saturdays and Mondays once my caseload builds, for now I have been fortunate that all of my clients prefer Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays leaving me with the rest of the week.

So today I woke up at my usual time, had some tea, followed up on a few unanswered text messages, and then headed out to run errands. I needed to fill my gas tank to be ready for all the driving I will be doing this week. I have two new clients this week and they are in the neighboring county so I will be in the car a good bit.

After the gas station I headed to the grocery for more veggies and a few limes so I can make ceviche. The grocery did not have the aloe juice I was looking for so I decided to go a few miles further and visit what I call the fancy grocery. It is the nice grocery with wood floors and a BIG produce section as well as a large tea selection and other high end items our regular grocery does not carry.

I found my aloe juice and I found a jasmine green tea that looked promising. It is 23.00 less expensive than the loose leaf jasmine tea at the tea shop so I thought I would give it a try. It is a winner! It is every bit as good as the last two jasmine teas I have tried. Every time I lift my tea cup to my lips I inhale the intoxicating smell of jasmine. It is smooth, unlike the last one I bought from our regular grocery that turned out to be rather bitter. I am thrilled. This is definitely one of my favorite teas in my tea cabinet presently.

When I got home I roasted some brussel sprouts and asparagus to go in the veggie wrap I will be having for lunch. I plan to paint my nails and watch a movie today, while completing a few chores around the home. And although I do not typically do anything work related on Tuesdays I have some documentation due in the middle of the month that I think I would like to get a head start on so I will squeeze that in this afternoon.

Tomorrow starts my work week and hopefully the time I am providing for outside and inside connection this week I will feel refreshed and ready to hold space for my clients.

And Then She Quoted Joni Mitchell

After dinner tonight my husband and I took Lu for a walk. The weather was unseasonably cool with a steady breeze, I could have walked for miles next to him in weather like this.

He mentioned a tropical depression the news people were talking about, I shrugged and put my hand in his while we walked on. I did not need a reason for the weather, only to be grateful and enjoy it.

We took a detour from one of our traditional routes to stop by The Little Free Library a few blocks over. There are two Little Free Libraries near a home, both just a few blocks over from each other. This is a blessing for sure for a constant reader such as myself because sometimes I need something to hold me over until I can get to the bookstore.

This one is not usually as well stocked as the other but I checked the other over the weekend and found nothing of interest. I opened the wood door with the glass porthole window and started picking up books to quickly read the synopsis on the back. Still I was not feeling struck by anything. Feeling pressure to pick something because I knew if I didn’t I would have nothing to read tonight I landed on Both Sides Now by Nancy Sharp.

I chose it because of the title and the cover, no other reason. I didn’t know what the book was about but Both Sides Now sounds like a book that is going to embrace the AND in life, sign me up. I was drawn to the cover because it felt honest. It is black with gray running through and a small muted sun up in one corner. To me this signified the dark, the light, and the gray where they meet and life happens. I liked that the majority of the cover was black and gray, they sun is small, it does not feel like it is trying to force anything: ignore your darkness and be happy! This title, this cover, they felt real, like whoever wrote this book knows something. They get it.

Turns out the book is a memoir and one of the over arching themes of this woman’s story is loss. So far I have only read the author’s note and already a lot is coming up for me. She is discussing loss, so far, in a way many people can relate to; losing a loved one. Many of the losses in my life look different than that, her language is still relevant for me though.

Two pieces that stood out already are:

Seeing takes time. We have to be patient to draw clarity from the fog.

The question of Why? ultimately becomes What Next? because in order to live and love again you determine where to place yourself in this altered world.

I really really get what she is saying here.

My picking this book felt random, now I am not so sure. I feel like this woman is bringing me my work. And if all of this was not enough to convince me, at the end of the author’s note she quoted Joni Mitchell: Well something’s lost, but something’s gained.

both